Skin Nourishment with Frank & Whit

Living in the midwest means my skin goes through a lot of changes throughout the year. From humid, sticky summers to subzero, dry winters, my skin fights quite a lot of battles. In an effort to detoxify my skincare routine and really nourish its troublesome spots, I have been doing a lot of research on clean non-toxic beauty brands. The wellness community on Instagram is such a great place to start and is actually how I stumbled upon Franklin & Whitman.

What I think I like most about this brand, besides the super clean ingredients, is that they’re not overwhelming. I find it hard to figure out what I want to try from a company when they offer too many products. Frank & Whit isn’t like that; when it comes to facial products, they have one facial oil, three masks, and three steams. That’s it. It is so refreshing to find a company that knows how to make a good product and focuses on just that.

I debated for quite a while about which product I wanted to try first because each one appealed to me in its own way. Every mask and steam has its own benefits that I thought my skin could use but I ultimately decided to go with the Walnut Hill Face Serum to start. (Little did I know I would also be sent a very generous sample of the Cobbs Creek Botanical Steam; talk about an awesome company).

fullsizeoutput_9c6The Walnut Hill Face Serum really is amazing. The ingredients are minimal but effective and the packaging is simple and clean. Majority of oils on the market come in glass dropper bottles which allows you to have control over how much product you use but it also makes it VERY easy to spill the product or dispense too much. This bottle has a pump which eliminates both of those issues; one pump is just the right amount for my face and there is no mess. Argan oil, rosehip seed oil, and pomegranate seed oil create the perfect blend to nourish and hydrate my skin without leaving behind a greasy or oily feeling. Each oil has its own amazing skin benefits which are described in detail on the Frank & Whit site.

The Cobbs Creek Botanical Steam exceeded all of my expectations. As I stated previously, this was one of the products I was curious to try but did not buy. Lucky for me, I was sent a sample with my purchase anyway. There is a lot of hype within the wellness community regarding these steams and let me tell you, it is well deserved. The idea behind the facial steam is to sooth and balance your skin by opening your pores and adding hydration through herbal botanicals. This steam specifically contains Organic Chamomile Flowers, Organic Lemon Verbena Leaf, Organic Calendula Flowers, Organic Peppermint Leaf, Organic Hibiscus Petals, and Organic Cornflowers.

What I loved the most about this steam is that it left my skin feeling SO fresh. To use the steam you simply boil 4 cups of water, then add it to a bowl with 1-2tbsp of the botanical steam, position your face comfortably over the bowl and place a towel over your head to create a steam tent. The instructions state to breathe deeply for 10-15 minutes which to be honest, seemed like quite a long time to sit with my face over a bowl of hot water but I did it anyway. I boiled my water, poured it in a large bowl with 2 tablespoons of the botanical steam, and marveled in its beauty all while reminding myself that it was a facial steam, not a bowl of tea. I got my towel and set my timer for 10 minutes bracing myself for boredom.

image3
I took my first few deep breaths and definitely thought I wasn’t going to last the full 10 minutes due to suffocation but to my surprise, it got easier and easier. I could feel my pores opening and soaking up all the benefits of the steam. My nasal passages started to open and breathing in the steam started to feel completely normal and relaxing. Once the 10 minutes was up, I took the towel off and allowed my face to dry. I was so pleasantly surprised by how great my skin felt. For some reason I expected it to feel sticky kind of like it would after stepping into humidity, but it didn’t, it just felt clean and hydrated.

I cannot say enough good things about this company; what they stand for and the products they create. If you are looking to really pamper yourself and nourish your skin, then I highly recommend checking out Franklin & Whitman. Not only do they offer face, body, and hair products but they also have a few options for men and dogs.

Leave a Reply

